Mindfulness: distract yourself from craving

I was diagnosed with Crohns disease several years ago. The up and downs of my condition have certainly taken a toll physically and mentally. 

 

Often times my doctor prescribes steriods to deal with my severe flare ups. The side effects are horrendus! Heres a “short” list of just a few of them:

 

  • anxiety/agitation
  • blurred vision
  • fast, slow, pounding, or irregular heartbeat or pulse
  • headache
  • irritability
  • mental depression
  • mood changes
  • weight gain
  • full or round face, neck, or trunk
  • increased hunger

These are the standouts for me, and number one would be increased HUNGER. I literally crave everything.

After years of being on this medication I’ve finally gotten better at managing the cravings that derail my weight loss goals. While I might still gain 5-10 lbs during these flare – ups its much better than before. At one point, I gained 43 lbs on a 2 month course of the steriods!

Here’s what I find that helps.

  • Journal your thoughts and feelings each day
  • Log what you eat
  • If you are really hungry, opt for something healthy.
  • Avoid excessive down time (stay busy)
  • Maintain your exercise schedule and make sure to focus on cardio and stretching over weight training
  • Get enough sleep

Being mindful is really about focusing on what you CAN do better. While I might have a serious chronic illness, I won’t allow it to run my life.

 

Be well..

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/craving/

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Love it Now says:

    I wish you a lot of strenght and high vibrations, I admire your attitude🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lucarna says:

    Those four stones seem so delicious…! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Estella Beavers says:

    Great tips. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you work in progress with this one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

