Self esteem when chronically ill

 Who out there has something they would like to conceal? Highlight? Tone?

We are in a constant battle with ourselves as we look at the magazines and then read 1 Samuel 16:7 – “The Lord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

Sometimes looking good on the OUTSIDE helps you feel better inside too!  When it comes to my appearance, I generally feel better if I make some effort. I have my own personal style, and while I like to keep it simple and not too fussy its still fun to dress up.

After  recently going thru proton beam radiation to my eyes, I developed severe edema. While its slowly getting better, most days I have severe bags, under my eyes. I wear sunglasses and sunscreen anytime I’m outdoors. I’m wearing make up a bit more these days and have discovered the amazing magic it can do.

My daily go to:

MAC- foundation, blush, primer, concealer – great coverage, moderate price, long lasting

Graftobian correct wheel – this thing is amazing for blemishes, dark circles, and puffiness

Garnier Clearly Brighter Anti-puff eye roller – comparable to Clinque version for a lot less

Kiehls Eye Alert – actually part of the men’s line with caffeine is great to reduce puffiness

Generally I prefer a natural look, make up for me is to enhance and improve the overall appearance of my face.

Here in a few photos, you can see the drastic side effects of treatment..

m6.jpg
2 months after proton beam radiation

m5.jpg
5 months after proton beam radiation

m4.jpg
TODAY! 6 months post radiation, with make up!

This isn’t vanity, its self esteem.

Its been 6 months, I’m so blessed with the health that I have, my family, and my faith.

Be well.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. . . . You look fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bless you! Love your blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. . . . Thanks ma’am.

        You’ve an equally lovely one too.
        I enjoyed my lil stay.
        Coming back . . . SOON.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

